The world’s tallest statue, the statue of Sardar Vallabhbhai Patel has achieved the status of the eighth wonder of the world, recognized by Shanghai Cooperation Organisation (SCO).


The SCO refers to a grouping of eight nations, including China, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyz Republic, Russia, Tajikistan, Uzbekistan, India, and Pakistan.

The website of the world architectural site mentions, “the statue is capable of surviving the high-speed winds and can also endure and earthquake of 6.8 at the high scale.”


The Statue of Unity

Sardar Vallabhbhai Patel was known as ‘Iron Man’ of India for his contribution in the effort to unite India when India was fragile against the British government.


The Government constructed the tallest statue of the world in his honour.  It is located between the Narmada dam which makes it look like he is moving the river to Varodara.



Its construction took 3 and half year and 3000 workers, including 300 engineers.


The statue will be able to withstand earthquakes and wind speed up to around 100 km per second.


The sculpture of the statue was designed by Padma Bhushan and Padma Shri recipient Ram V Sutar.


Four high-speed lifts are fitted in the statue’s legs. Each lift can carry 26 people to the top in just above 30 seconds.


Iron was collected from all over the country to build this Statue of Unity.


Other Wonders Recognized by SCO

Kazakhstan — the Archaeological Landscape of Tamgaly.


China — The Daming imperial palace complex.


Kyrgyzstan — Lake Issyk-Kul.


Pakistan — The Great Mughals’ heritage at Lahore.


Russia — The Golden Ring cities.


Tajikistan — The Palace of Nowruz.


Uzbekistan — The Poi Kalon complex.


You can refer to the video