South India is the southern region of India. It consists of five Indian states namely, Andhra Pradesh, Telangana, Karnataka, Kerala and Tamil Nadu. It also consists the union territories of Puducherry, Lakshadweep and Andaman and Nicobar.



Major cities of South India include Bengaluru, Chennai, Hyderabad, Kochi, and Thiruvananthapuram. South India is the largest producer of spices.


Some of the main crops cultivated in South India include paddy, sorghum, pearl millet, pulses, sugarcane, cotton, chilli, and ragi.







Kerala, Tamil Nadu, Karnataka and Andhra Pradesh are the major coconut producing states in India accounting for more than 90 per cent of area and production.




South India is home to a variety of classical dance forms. Bharatanatyam from Tamil Nadu, Kuchipudi from Andhra Pradesh, Kathakali and Mohiniyattam from Kerala and Yakshagana from Karnataka are the dance forms that are popular all over the world.








The world’s richest templeThe Padmanabhaswamy temple is located in the capital city of Kerala, Thiruvananthapuram.


The Padmanabhaswamy temple



The major rivers of South India are Godavari, Narmada, Krishna, Mahanadi, Tapti, Sabarmati and their tributaries. Godavari is the second longest river in India.


Kerala is popularly called ‘God’s Own Country’ because of its beauty.





Pick up the globe and get going!!!


First, try to answer without the globe or map. Take its help when you’re struggling.


Q1. Which of the following cities is closest to Bangalore?


Q2. Name and locate capital of Kerala.


Q3. Which Indian state is closest to Sri Lanka?


Q4. Which of the following cities does not touch Bay of Bengal – Vishakhapatnam, Chennai, Puducherry, Kozhikode?


Q5. The island of Lakshadweep is in which water body?






Below are the Questions from our last post on North India. Let’s see how much you remember!!!


First, try to answer without the globe or map. Take its help when you’re struggling.


Q6. Which Indian states border Nepal?


Q7. Locate Udaipur and Jodhpur.


Q8. Name and locate capitals of Punjab, Haryana and Himachal.


Q9. How many states does one have to cross if he has to travel from Punjab to Gujarat?


Q10. Which states border Tibet?















A1. Mysore, Chennai, Hyderabad.




A3. Tamil Nadu.


A4. Kozhikode (Calicut).


A5. Arabian Sea.


A6. Indian states that share border with Nepal are Uttarakhand, Uttar Pradesh, Sikkim, West Bengal and Bihar.






A9. Just one – Rajasthan.


A10. Himachal Pradesh, Sikkim, Uttarakhand, Arunachal Pradesh.