Southeast Asia is located, just like it sounds, in the southeast portion of the continent of Asia. Southeast Asia consists of eleven countries that reach from eastern India to China, and is generally divided into “mainland” and “island” zones.



The mainland (Myanmar, Thailand, Laos, Cambodia, and Vietnam) is actually an extension of the Asian continent.

Island or maritime Southeast Asia includes Malaysia, Singapore, Indonesia, the Philippines, Brunei, and the new nation of East Timor (formerly part of Indonesia).

Indonesia is the largest country in Southeast Asia whereas Brunei is the smallest.

Each country has its own unique culture and traditions, but these cultures are similar. Most people in Southeast Asia are Buddhist, Muslim or Christian.

Southeast Asia is rich in wildlife with animals such as orangutans, leopards, elephants, water buffalo and rhinos.











Much of Southeast Asia is rainforest and the climate is very wet. The wet weather makes the area prime for paddy agriculture making rice the main staple in the Southeast Asian diet.

This area is prone to earthquakes, tsunamis, and volcanoes.

Below are some of the most famous monuments in Southeast Asia.


Angkor Wat, Combodia


Batu Caves, Kuala Lampur



Bagan, Burma


Major rivers of Southeast Asia include: Mekong river and The Irrawaddy river which is officially know as Ayeyarwady River.



Pick up the globe and get going!!!



First, try to answer without the globe or map. Take its help when you’re struggling.


Q1. Which is the only country from which you can reach Singapore in a car?


Q2. Locate Malacca strait – one of the busiest trade route by sea.


Q3. Which all countries border Combodia?


Q4. Which all countries does the Mekong river flow through?


Q5. What is the capital of Vietnam?
















A1. Malaysia.




A3. Combodia shares its borders with Vietnam to the east, Laos in the northeast, Thailand in the west and northwest, and has a coastline at the Gulf of Thailand in the southwest.


A4. It flows through six countries: China, Myanmar (Burma), Thailand, Laos, Cambodia, and Vietnam.


A5. Hanoi is the capital city of Vietnam.