South Asia is the southern region of the Asian continent.

It includes the countries of India, Pakistan, Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, Maldives, Nepal and Sri Lanka.



While India is the biggest of them all, Maldives is the smallest.

South Asia has an area of about 5.2 million kms. which is 3.5% of the world’s total land surface area.

The population of South Asia is about 1.89 billion which is about 1/4th of the world’s population.

This makes it the most populous and the most densely populated geographical region in the world.

Some of the most important cities of South Asia are Delhi, Mumbai, Karachi, Dhaka etc.

The major rivers in South Asia are the Ganges, the Indus, and the Brahmaputra among others.



South Asia is home to a huge variety of animals and birds such as lion, tiger, elephant, rhinoceros, deer, snow leopard, peacock etc.















Over 98% of the world’s Hindus live in South Asia.

The region’s other religions are Islam, Sikhism, Christianity and Buddhism.




Pick up the globe and get going!!!


First, try to answer without the globe or map. Take its help when you’re struggling.


Q1. Which ocean surrounds the South Asia?


Q2. Which of the following countries is not a part of South Asia: Sri Lanka, Pakistan, Afghanistan, Uzbekistan, Maldives?


Q3. Which of the follwing rivers doesn’t flow through South Asia: Indus, Mekong, Godavari, Ganga?


Q4. What is the capital and currency of Bangladesh?


Q5. Name the bordering countries of India.




Below are the Questions from our last post on continents, West Asia. Let’s see how much you remember!!!


First, try to answer without the globe or map. Take its help when you’re struggling.


Q6. Which water body separates Saudi Arabia with Iran?


Q7. Name the capital cities of Yeman, Oman, and Qatar.


Q8. If you have to sail from Iron to Kazakhstan, then which water body will you be sailing in?


Q9. If a person travels from Oman to Mumbai on ship, which sea will he cross?


Q10. Name the countries bordering Isreal.
















A1. Indian Ocean.


A2. Uzbekistan.


A3. Mekong.


A4. Dhaka is the capital and Bangladeshi Taka is the currency of Bangladesh.


A5. India shares its border with these countries namely Bangladesh, Bhutan, China, Myanmar, Nepal, Pakistan, Sri Lanka and Afghanistan.


A6. The Persian Gulf.


A7. Sana’a, Muscat, and Doha respectively.


A8. Caspian Sea.


A9. Arabian Sea and Indian Ocean.


A10. Israel is bordered by Syria, Lebanon, Golan Heights, the West Bank, Jordan, the Gaza Strip, and Egypt