Eight important rivers together with their various tributaries comprise the River System of India.


Based on their source, the Indian River system is classified into – Himalayan Rivers and Peninsular Rivers.


The Himalayan Rivers originate from the Himalayas and flow through the Northern Plains. The major Himalayan Rivers are Indus, Ganga, Yamuna, and Brahmaputra.


Peninsular Rivers are basically ‘rain fed’ rivers. They mainly emerge from Western Ghats and flow into the Bay of Bengal or into the Arabian Sea. The major Peninsular Rivers are Mahanadi, Godavari, Krishna, and Kaveri.


Ganga is considered to be the most sacred river of India. The Ganga river begins from the Gangotri Glacier located in Uttarakhand.


Brahmaputra, one of the major rivers in India, originates in the Angsi glacier of Himalayas in Tibet. The Brahmaputra has the greatest volume of water of all the rivers in India.


The Godavari River covers the second longest course in India after the Ganga.


The Krishna is the third longest river in India. Originating from Maharashtra’s Mahabaleshwar region it flows through Karnataka, Telangana, and Andhra Pradesh to finally pour into the Bay of Bengal.


The Narmada and the Tapi are the only major rivers that flow into the Arabian Sea.



Pick up the globe and get going!!!


First, try to answer without the globe or map. Take its help when you’re struggling.


  1. Arrange these rivers from North to South: Mahanadi, Ganga, Kaveri, Krishna.


  1. Which all states does Kaveri flow through?


  1. The river Narmada flows into which water body?


  1. The river Godavari flows into which water body?


  1. The river Mahanadi flows through which state?




Below are the Questions from our last post on East India. Let’s see how much you remember!!!


First, try to answer without the globe or map. Take its help when you’re struggling.


Q6. Which of the Indian states border Bangladesh?


Q7. Which of the Indian states border Bhutan?


Q8. What is the capital of Assam?


Q9. What is the capital of Sikkim?


Q10. Arrange the following states from East to West – Tripura, Mizoram, Manipur, and Sikkim.
















A1. Ganga, Mahanadi, Krishna, Kaveri.


A2. Karnataka and Tamil Nadu.


A3. Arabian Sea.


A4. Bay of Bengal.


A5. Chhattisgarh and Odisha.


A6. Assam, West Bengal, Mizoram, Meghalaya and Tripura.


A7. The Indian states of West Bengal, Arunachal Pradesh, Sikkim and Assam share their borders with Bhutan.


A8. Guwahati.


A9. Gangtok.


A10. Manipur, Mizoram, Tripura, and Sikkim.