North India is the northern region of India. It consists of the following states namely, Jammu and Kashmir, Himachal Pradesh, Punjab, Haryana, Rajasthan, Uttarakhand, Uttar Pradesh, and the Union Territories of Chandigarh and Delhi.



Delhi which is the capital of India also comes under this region. Uttar Pradesh is the most populous state of North India.

Major cities of North India include Delhi, Chandigarh, Jaipur, Lucknow, Varanasi, and  Ludhiana.




The major crops that are grown in North India are Wheat, Rice, Millet, Legume, Sugarcane, etc.  Punjab is the state which grows most of the wheat, all over India.

One of the Seven Wonders of the World – The Taj Mahal is located in the city of Agra, Uttar Pradesh. The biggest pilgrim of Sikhs – The Golden Temple is located in Amritsar, Punjab.




The major rivers of north India are Ravi, Beas, Sutlej, Ganga, and Yamuna.

Due to the presence of Himalayas in the northern region of India, the places at higher altitudes get to see snowfall.




The northern region stays quite hot during the summers and gets quite chilly during winters.

The only desert in India, that is, the Thar desert is located in Rajasthan.





Pick up the globe and get going!!!


First, try to answer without the globe or map. Take its help when you’re struggling.


Q1. Chandigarh is the capital of which two states?


Q2. River Sutlej flows through which two states?


Q3. The state of Delhi borders which two other states?


Q4. River Ganga flows through which Indian states?


Q5. Uttarakhand was carved out of which Indian state?




Below are the Questions from our last post on India. Let’s see how much you remember!!!


First, try to answer without the globe or map. Take its help when you’re struggling.


Q6. Arrange these cities from North to South – Trivandrum, Chennai, Bangalore, Hyderabad.


Q7. Name all the states bordering Assam?


Q8. Locate Daman & Diu and Dadra & Nagar Haveli.


Q9. Find the odd one out – West Bengal, Andhra Pradesh, Maharashtra, Punjab.


Q10. The state of Goa shares border with which other states?
















A1. Punjab and Haryana.


A2. Himachal Pradesh and Punjab.


A3. Haryana and Uttar Pradesh.


A4. The Ganga passes through the states of Uttarakhand, Uttar Pradesh, Bihar, Jharkhand, and West Bengal.


A5. Uttar Pradesh.


A6. Bangalore, Hyderabad, Chennai, Bangalore, Trivandrum.


A7. Arunachal Pradesh is in north, West Bengal is located in west, Nagaland and Manipur in the east whereas Meghalaya, Tripura and Mizoram in the south.





A9. Punjab.


A10. Karnataka and Maharashta.