India is home to seven major mountain ranges with some of the highest mountain ranges and mountain roads in the world.



These hills contain areas of exceptional natural beauty, sparking waterfalls and habitat for many species of medicinal plants, beautiful birds, unique reptiles and wild animals.


The most famous and the highest mountain range of India is the Himalayan range. It is also the youngest and the longest mountain range in India with almost every largest peak of the world.


The Himalayan mountain range bisects India from the rest of Asia and is the primary source of mighty rivers in India.


Kanchanjenga which is the third highest peak in the world and highest peak in India is part of Himalayas. Nanda Devi is the second highest mountain peak in India. The second longest glacier (next only to Antarctica) in the world, Siachen Glacier is also the part of this range.

Nanda Devi





The Vindhya range is one of seven mountain ranges in India that separates the Northern India from the Southern India as it runs across the central India.


The Satpura Range is a mountain range that is triangular in shape. It extends across Maharashtra, Madhya Pradesh and Chhattisgarh.


The Aravali Range is the oldest mountain range in India, starting from Delhi, running across Rajasthan to Haryana and ending in Gujrat.




The Western Ghats starts near the border of Gujarat and ending at Kanyakumari. This area is one of the world’s ten “Hottest biodiversity hotspots.”


The Eastern Ghats is an irregular range of mountains. Its range start from West Bengal to Tamil Nadu. Nilgiri hills, also known as the “The Blue Mountains”, are part of this range. This area has the largest population of Indian elephants.






Pick up the globe and get going!!!


First, try to answer without the globe or map. Take its help when you’re struggling.


Q1. In which states do you find Aravalis?


Q2. Which of the following states does not have a Himalayan mountains – Himachal Pradesh, Uttarakhand, Rajasthan?


Q3. Which states have Eastern ghats?


Q4. Which states have Western ghats?


Q5. Where do the Eastern and Western ghats meet?




Below are the Questions from our last post on East India. Let’s see how much you remember!!!


First, try to answer without the globe or map. Take its help when you’re struggling.


  1. Which all rivers are tributaries of Sutlej?


  1. The river Sutlej flows through which states?


  1. The river Tapi flows into which water body?


  1. Which river flows between Satpura and Vindhyas?


  1. In which direction do all the rivers of south India flow?
















A1. Gujrat, Rajasthan and Haryana.


A2. Rajasthan.


A3. They run from West Bengal through Orissa and Andhra Pradesh to Tamil Nadu in the south passing some parts of Karnataka.


A4. The Western Ghats extend from the Satpura Range in the north, stretching from Gujarat to Tamil Nadu. It traverses south through the states of Maharashtra, Goa, Karnataka and Kerala.


A5. Nilgiri hills.


A6. Beas is the 1st and only tributary of Sutlej.


A7. It enters and crosses the Indian state of Himachal Pradesh before beginning its flow through the Punjab plain near Nangal, Punjab state.


A8. Arabian Sea.


A9. The Narmada River.


A10. They flow from west to east.