The official name of South Africa is the Republic of South Africa, which lies at the bottom tip of Africa. South Africa has three capital cities: Cape Town, Bloemfontein and Pretoria. (Globe time!!!)


It is often called the “Rainbow Nation” because the country has so many different groups of people and languages. More than 11 official languages are spoken in South Africa, plus many regional dialects.


Fun Facts


👉 Table Mountain which is one of the oldest mountains on the planet, is in South Africa.


👉 The first human heart transplant was performed in a Cape Town hospital in 1967.

👉 The most popular sports in South Africa are football (soccer), rugby and cricket.







👉 South Africa’s lion, wildebeest, cheetah and springbok, are four of the seven fastest mammals on earth.





👉 The African elephant is the largest land mammal in the world. The African bush elephants can weigh up to 11 tons and live up to 70 years! It is also home to the tallest animal in the world, the giraffe.



👉 Two-thirds of Africa’s electricity is generated in South Africa. As much as 80% of Africa’s rail infrastructure is found in South Africa.

You can refer to the videos